Jump to content

Why login?

  • It's free
  • Participate in the discussions
  • Contribute schedules, rosters and scores
  • Hide the advertising on the message boards by becoming a Plus member
  • Welcome to CoachT.com!

    You can't become a part of our great high school sports community without logging in!

    Regular visitors will tell you: they love keeping up with teams outside their own area. That only happens when we share information here on CoachT.com!

    Don't have an account? It only takes a second to create one, and it's even easier with a Facebook or Twitter account!

    Donovan Stewart’s Division II-A All State Team

    • Please log in to reply
    No replies to this topic

    #1 kwc


      Most Valuable Player

    • Members
    • 6,502 posts

    Posted 10 January 2017 - 12:34 PM

    Donovan Stewart’s Division II-A All State Team


    In four short years, Lausanne went from starting a football program from scratch to winning a state title.


    The Lynx started their football program in 2013 as they hired Hall of Fame coach Ken Netherland to jump start the program since he started the St. George’s program as well.


    They were able to hire Kevin Locastro after he resigned at Christian Brothers and when Netherland passed away in 2014, Locastro took over the program.


    The program came full circle last month as they defeated Knoxville Webb 12-9 for the Division II-A State title.


    So to start the new year, tnhighschoolfootball.com lead writer Donovan Stewart is looking back on the season in Division II-A with a statewide all state team for both classifications.


    Tnhighschoolfootball.com will roll out an all state team for each classification (1A, 2A, 3A, 4A, 5A, 6A, as well as both Division II classifications). Today, Division II-A all state team with players selected as 21 spots selected on offense (4 QB, 4 RB, 4 WR, 5 OL, 4 ATH) and 16 spots on defense (4 DL, 4 LB, 4 DB, 4 ATH) as well as one kicker and one punter as well.


    Also selected was an Offensive and Defensive Player of the Year and as well as a Coach of the Year. The selection process was based on discussions with Division II-A coaches across the state as well as seeing players live and on film.


    So here’s the full offensive and defensive all state list.



    QB- Jacob Buie, USJ, Jr.
    QB- Ben Glass, St. George’s, Sr.
    QB- Jack Grissom, FACS, Jr.
    QB- Stone Norton, Davidson Academy, Soph.
    RB- Eric Gray, Lausanne, Soph.
    RB- Chase Hayden, St. George’s, Sr.
    RB- Marquavious Moore, Harding Academy, Sr.
    RB- Jayden Walker, DCA, Sr.
    WR- Corey Jones, St. George’s, Sr.
    WR- Ryan Miller, USJ, Sr.
    WR- Ingram Page, Ezell Harding, Jr.
    WR- Dawson Williams, ECS, Soph.
    OL- Jarious Douglas, Lausanne, Sr.
    OL- Obinna Eze, Davidson Academy, Sr.
    OL- Jake Julian, Knoxville Webb, Jr.
    OL- Will Lawrence, Harding Academy, Jr.
    OL- Trey Smith, USJ, Sr.
    ATH- Calvin Austin III, Harding Academy, Sr.
    ATH- Tre Curtis, FACS, Sr.
    ATH- Mario Nolan Dillard, Lausanne, Sr.
    ATH- Phillip Sellers, The Kings Academy, Sr.



    DL- Mason Harwell, Harding Academy, Sr.
    DL- Corteze Love, Lausanne, Jr.
    DL- Jack Nadaud, Knoxville Webb, Sr.
    DL- Rhett Peel, USJ, Sr.
    LB- James Babb, Lausanne, Sr.
    LB- Morgan Ernst, Knoxville Webb, Jr.
    LB- Cole Lusby, The King’s Academy, Jr.
    LB- Noah Pope, St. George’s, Sr.
    DB- Kell Hawkins, BGA, Jr.
    DB- Elijah Howard, Knoxville Webb, 8th grade
    DB- Jahlil Jefferson, Knoxville Webb, Soph.
    DB- Cameron Kinley, Lausanne, Sr.
    ATH- Taylor Carman, Friendship Christian, Jr.
    ATH- Da’Joun Hewitt, Davidson Academy, Soph.
    ATH- Tavarius Moore, Rossville Christian, Sr.
    ATH- Carson Penn, FACS, Sr.


    Special Teams

    K- Charles Campbell, USJ, Sr.
    P- Jake Holloway, BGA, Sr.


    Award Winners

    Offensive Player of the Year- Eric Gray, Lausanne- The sophomore exploded onto the scene this season rushing for 2,215 yards and scoring 38 touchdowns to help lead the Lynx to a state title. Gray rushed for 175 yards and scored both Lynx touchdowns in the state title game.


    Defensive Player of the Year- Morgan Ernst, Knoxville Webb- The junior linebacker made plays all season as he had 150 tackles including 12 in state title game loss to Lausanne.


    Coach of the Year- Kevin Locastro, Lausanne- The third year Lynx head coach led the only undefeated team in all of Division II as Lausanne won the school’s first football state title.




    Congrats to all of the young men selected above. However, I'd like to send a special kudos out to the young men selected above who represent a school from the Memphis area. You've all done well and deserve the recognition. You've represented your school and your city well.


    Way to Go!

    Edited by kwc, 10 January 2017 - 12:45 PM.

    • 0

    2016 Class 6A State Champions, 2015 Class 6A Semi-finalist, 2014 Class 6A Semi-finalist2013 Class 6A Quarter-finalist, 2012 Class 6A State Champions, 2011 Class 6A State Runner-up, 2010 Class 6A Semi-finalist, 2009 Class 6A Quarterfinalist

    Spirit Style Chooser: