Jump to content

Why login?

  • It's free
  • Participate in the discussions
  • Contribute schedules, rosters and scores
  • Hide the advertising on the message boards by becoming a Plus member
  • Welcome to CoachT.com!

    You can't become a part of our great high school sports community without logging in!

    Regular visitors will tell you: they love keeping up with teams outside their own area. That only happens when we share information here on CoachT.com!

    Don't have an account? It only takes a second to create one, and it's even easier with a Facebook or Twitter account!

    Donovan Stewart’s Division II-AA All State Team

    • Please log in to reply
    No replies to this topic

    #1 kwc


      Most Valuable Player

    • Members
    • 6,502 posts

    Posted 10 January 2017 - 12:50 PM

    Donovan Stewart’s Division II-AA All State Team


    Brentwood Academy gained a measure of revenge against cross town rival MBA on the biggest stage: the state title game.


    The Eagles won their 12th state title and second in a row over the Big Red as the teams produced another great title game as the Eagles won 42-38.


    So to start the new year, tnhighschoolfootball.com lead writer Donovan Stewart is looking back on the season in Division II-A with a statewide all state team for both classifications.


    Tnhighschoolfootball.com will roll out an all state team for each classification (1A, 2A, 3A, 4A, 5A, 6A, as well as both Division II classifications). Today, Division II-A all state team with players selected as 21 spots selected on offense (4 QB, 4 RB, 4 WR, 5 OL, 4 ATH) and 16 spots on defense (4 DL, 4 LB, 4 DB, 4 ATH) as well as one kicker and one punter as well.


    Also selected was an Offensive and Defensive Player of the Year and as well as a Coach of the Year. The selection process was based on discussions with Division II-A coaches across the state as well as seeing players live and on film.


    So here’s the full offensive and defensive all state list.



    QB- Ben Brooks, JPII, Sr.
    QB- Jeremiah Oatsvall, Brentwood Academy, Sr.
    QB- Robert Riddle, McCallie, Sr.
    QB- Jackson Walker, Briarcrest, Soph.
    RB- Ty Chandler, MBA, Sr.
    RB- Nicky Clifton, Ensworth, Jr.
    RB- Charles Elliott, Briarcrest, Sr.
    RB- Shawn McColley, McCallie, Sr.
    WR- Walker Fannon, McCallie, Sr.
    WR- Camron Johnson, Brentwood Academy, Soph.
    WR- C.J. Laws, JPII, Sr.
    WR- Rodney Owens, Ensworth, Sr.
    OL- Tanner Antonutti, Ensworth, Jr.
    OL- Hamilton Garber, MBA, Sr.
    OL- Griffin Hawkins, Briarcrest, Sr.
    OL- Cole Johnson, Baylor, Sr.
    OL- Payton Terry, Ensworth, Sr.
    ATH- Jackson Byrd, Father Ryan, Jr.
    ATH- Jaylan King, Ensworth, Jr.
    ATH- Montgomery Owen, MBA, Sr.
    ATH- Keegan Voss, Christian Brothers, Sr.



    DL- Giovanni Reviere, McCallie, Sr.
    DL- Josh Higgs, Brentwood Academy, Sr.
    DL- Oganna Oraedu, MUS, Sr.
    DL- Tyree Toliver, Baylor, Sr.
    LB- Zach Hamlet, Christian Brothers, Jr.
    LB- Dorian Hopkins, MUS, Soph.
    LB- Jackson Sirmon, Brentwood Academy, Jr.
    LB- Bart Starr, MBA, Sr.
    DB- Evan Beddoe, Brentwood Academy, Sr.
    DB- Maurice Hampton, MUS, Soph.
    DB- Brandon Harris, Baylor, Jr.
    DB- Cameron Wade, MBA, Sr.
    ATH- Rico Dozier, McCallie, Jr.
    ATH- Jaylan Nowell, McCallie, Sr.
    ATH- Jake Powers, Briarcrest, Sr.
    ATH- Kalvin Watson, Baylor, Sr.


    Special Teams

    K- Trey Thomas, MUS, Sr.
    P- Nick Vandeven, St. Benedict, Sr.


    Award Winners

    Offensive Player of the Year- Ty Chandler, MBA- The two time Division II-AA Back Winner and Tennessee commitment again was a force on Offense for the Big Red rushing for 2,252 yards and scoring 38 touchdowns on the year.


    Defensive Player of the Year- Dorian Hopkins, MUS- The sophomore wrecking ball proved difficult to block as he racked up 98 tackles including 16 of those for loss and five sacks.


    Coach of the Year- Cody White, Brentwood Academy- The Eagles are 22-3 under White the last two seasons with more importantly two Division II-AA state titles.




    Congrats to all of the young men selected above. However, I'd like to send a special kudos out to the young men selected above who represent a school from the Memphis area. You've all done well and deserve the recognition. You've represented your school and your city well.


    Way to Go!

    Edited by kwc, 10 January 2017 - 12:56 PM.

    • 0

    2016 Class 6A State Champions, 2015 Class 6A Semi-finalist, 2014 Class 6A Semi-finalist2013 Class 6A Quarter-finalist, 2012 Class 6A State Champions, 2011 Class 6A State Runner-up, 2010 Class 6A Semi-finalist, 2009 Class 6A Quarterfinalist

    Spirit Style Chooser: