Jump to content

Top Seeds Advance in D-II AA East/Middle Region


Recommended Posts

Led by No. 1 seeds Anderson Scarpa (Baylor) and Sarah Evans (GPS), respectively, the top four seeds in boys and girls’ singles, advanced to Sunday’s championship semifinals of the TSSAA D-II AA East/Middle Individual Tennis Region held this weekend at the John S. Strang Tennis Center at McCallie School.


Play begins Sunday at 9 a.m. with singles semis and doubles finals as well as consolation matches. Singles finals are scheduled for approximately noon.


In the boys’ bracket, Scarpa faces No. 4 Zeesham Ismail (McCallie), while No. 2 Roger Briggs (MBA) takes on No. 3 Rand Jackson (Ensworth).


For the girls’, Evans plays No. 3 Samantha Caswell (Baylor), while No. 2 Caitlin Casey (Harper Hall) plays No. 4 Bronte Goodhue (GPS).


In the quarters, Scarpa defeated Ben Beardon (Pope John Paul II), 6-1, 7-5, while Evans stopped Kat Caire (Harpeth Hall), 6-2, 6-0.


Top Eight Advance To State: The top five finishers in boys’ and girls’ singles and doubles advance to the state, along with the top three in each bracket from the West Region for the state quarterfinals (Spring Fling XVII) in Murfreesboro, Thurs.-Fri., May 27-28.


In doubles finals, unseeded Aliza Williams-Emma McCallie (GPS) meets second-seed Erika Marschall-Sarah Berchuck (Baylor), while on the boys’ side it’s an all-Baylor final with top-seed Alex Cooper-Carlos Cuevas against No. 3 Michael Goldstein-Aditya Rali.


Goldstein-Rali defeated second seed Russell Anderson-Palmer Campbell (MBA), 7-6 (5), 6-4, in the semis.


The Williams-McCallie duo upset top-seeded Hannah Kimbrough-Morgan Hertik (Ensworth), 6-3, 6-3 in the semis.


Best Match: In boy's singles, McCallie's Zeesham Ismail defeated MBA's Naveen Chadalavada in a well-played three set quarterfinal match, 6-4, 2-6, 6-2. The "Z-Man'' trailed 1-2 in the third set before winning the final five games.


Road to the Final Four: McCallie (#3 East/Middle) has qualified for the state semis due to forfeit wins from BGA and Christian Brothers … McCallie has qualified for all 13 Spring Fling “final fours” since the D-I/D-II split; 1998-present … In that time, McCallie has won four state titles (2006-07-08-09) ... MUS is the only other boys' team to qualify for the final four from 1997 to 2009 .. The Owls host a state quarterfinal match on Tuesday.


Baylor “Blues’’: Baylor’s Michael Goldstein was decked in blue and white (blue cap, blue shorts and blue and white shirt), instead of Baylor red and gray for his quarters and semis doubles matches with teammate Aditya Rali … Goldstein told Baylor coaches that those tennis clothes were the only clean clothes he had … He and Rali made their opponents sing the blues, though, as the No. 3 seed advanced to Sunday’s final against teammates Alex Cooper and Carlos Cuevas … odds are Cooper wear’s non-blue apparel for the final … McCallie coach Eric Voges said Goldstein “looked good in blue’’.


Team State Quarters Matches:


Tuesday May 18: Baylor Girls host St. Benedict (3 p.m.)

Saturday May 22: Baylor Boys’ host Ensworth (11:30 a.m.); GPS hosts Ensworth (11:30 a.m.)


Winners advance to Spring Fling (state final four); Tues-Wed. May 25-26 in Murfreesboro.


Defending D-II AA State Champions: McCallie, Hutchison


D-II AA East/Middle Individual Region at McCallie


Girls Singles

Round of 16

Sarah Haines (Father Ryan) def. Kirby Wiley (Ensworth), 6-2, 6-4



(1) Sarah Evans (GPS) def. Kat Caire (Harpeth Hall), 6-0, 6-4; (3) Samantha Caswell (Baylor) def. Sarah Haines (Father Ryan), 6-0, 6-1; (4) Bronte Goodhue (GPS) def. Hannah Maclellan (Ensworth), 6-3, 6-1; (2) Caitlin Casey (Harpeth Hall) def. Harper Caswell (Baylor), 6-1, 6-0.


Semis: Sunday 9 a.m. … finals approx. noon


Girls Doubles


(1) Hannah Kimbrough-Morgan Hertik (Ensworth) def. Katie Thornton-Kelly Scruggs (Baylor), 6-4, 4-6, 6-3; Aliza Williams-Emma McCallie (GPS) def. (4) Margaret Lowe-Kelsea Best (Harpeth Hall), 6-2, 6-4; (3) Meredith Morrow-Lauren Schlabach (GPS) def. Litton Whitaker-Lexi Mossman (Harpeth Hall), 6-0, 6-1; (2) Sarah Berchuck-Erika Marschall (Baylor) def. Carlyle Scarola-Helen Rye (Ensworth), 6-0, 6-0.



Williams-McCallie (GPS) def. (1) Kimbrough-Hertik (Ensworth), 6-3,6-3; (2) Berchuck-Marschall (Baylor) def. Morrow-Schlabach (GPS), 6-2, 6-1

Finals: Sunday 9 a.m.


Consolation Doubles

Thornton-Scruggs (Baylor) def. (4) Lowe-Best (Harpeth Hall), 6-2, 6-2; Whitaker-Mossman (Harpeth Hall) def. Scarola-Rye (Ensworth), 6-2, 6-4


Boys Singles

Round of 16

Naveen Chadalavada (MBA) def. Nolan Moore (Ensworth), 6-0, 6-0; Eric Roddy (Baylor) def. Matthew Kardowski (Father Ryan), 6-2, 6-3; Bobby Brouner (McCallie) def. Andy Druffel (Pope John Paul II), 6-2, 6-3



(1) Anderson Scarpa (Baylor) def. Ben Beardon (JPII), 6-1, 7-5; (4) Zeeshan Ismail (McCallie) def. Naveen Chadalavada (MBA), 6-4, 2-6, 6-2; (3) Rand Jackson (Ensworth) def. Eric Roddy (Baylor), 6-1, 6-0; (2) Roger Briggs (MBA) def. Bobby Brouner (McCallie), 6-1, 6-3

Consolation: Ben Reardon (Pope John Paul II) def. Andy Duffell (Pope John Paul II), 6-4, 6-4

Semis: Sunday 9 a.m. … finals approx. noon


Boys Doubles


(1) Alex Cooper-Carlos Cuevas (Baylor) def. Rory Divine-Jack Masterson (Ensworth), 6-1, 6-1; (4) Scotty Webb-Logan Yerbey (McCallie) def. Davis Thrailkill-Andrew Karpos (MBA), 6-4, 6-0; (3) Michael Goldstein-Aditya Rali (Baylor) def. Daniel Pare-Evan Watkins (McCallie), 6-1, 7-5); (2) Russell Anderson-Palmer Campbell (MBA) def. Drake Evans-Evan Moskal (Ensworth), 6-0, 6-0


Semis: (1) Cooper-Cuevas (Baylor) def. (4) Webb-Yerbey (McCallie), 6-1, 6-2; (3) Goldstein-Rali (Baylor) def. (2) Anderson-Campbell (MBA), 7-6 (5), 6-4


Finals: Sunday 9 a.m.


Doubles Consolation

Thrailkill-Karpos (MBA) def. Divine-Masterson (Ensworth), 6-0, 6-0; Pare-Watkins (McCallie) def. Evans-Moskal (Ensworth), 6-0, 6-1


Top 8 To State: (Note: top five in singles and doubles (boys and girls) from East/Middle advance to individual state tournament (Spring Fling XVII), May 27-28 at Old Fort Park in Murfreesboro; top three from the West Region advance to state to form an 8-player bracket; quarters and semis are played on May 27 and championship finals are May 28.


2009 D-II AA State Champions: Singles – Brandon Fickey (Webb), Hayly Humphries (Hutchison); Doubles – Vicki Garcia-Guinn Garcia (Knox. Webb); Will Carter-Cliff Guyton (MUS)


contact B.B. Branton at [email protected]


also posted on chattanoogan.com

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.



  • Create New...