Monday, September 19, 2005

Tennessee Wrestling Hall of Fame

The National Wrestling Hall of Fame is pleased to announce the 2005 honorees from Tennessee who will be inducted in the National Hall of Fame at a banquet to be held at the Chattanooga Convention Center on November 10th. Honorees include Clint Abbott Jr., Ronnie Carter, Eddie Davidson, Charlie Goss, Al Miller, Horace Moore (deceased), and Dave Spencer (deceased).

The purpose of the Chapter will be to recognize Tennesseans for Lifetime Service to wrestling indicating positive and significant contributions to amateur wrestling for at least 20 years and to promote public awareness of amateur wrestling in the state.

The Chapter is headed by a ten-member Board of Directors: Brian Bauke (Memphis executive for FedEx), P.A. Bowler (Nashville businessman), B.B. Branton (Sports Information Director for The University of the South), Tim Garrett (Nashville lawyer and NCAA post-graduate wrestling scholar), David Hollowell (Vice-Principal Greeneville HS), Luther Killian (McCallie School teacher and coach), Darrel Lauderdale (Seymour High School teacher and coach), Artie Manning (Clarksville High School coach and Public Servant with the Clarksville Gas Company), Jeff Rufolo (Chattanooga lawyer), Mike Simpson (Director of Transportation for Shelby County Schools). Officers include Garrett as President, Rufolo as Vice-President, Bauke as treasurer, Branton as secretary, and Bowler as Banquet Coordinator.

The induction banquet will be held at the Chattanooga Convention Center on November 10th at 7 p.m. preceded by a reception beginning at 6 p.m. Additional details concerning reservations will be released soon.

Tennessee previously organized a Chapter in 1994 inducting five members to the Wrestling Hall of Fame. At that time the Chapter, headed by Chattanooga businessman Charles Hon and the late Bob Myers inducted Head Coaches John Farr (Red Bank), Jim Morgan (UTC, Baylor), Gordon Connell (Hixson, MTSU, McCallie), Luke Worsham (Baylor), G.P. West (Brentwood, Whites Creek, Hillwood). Eddie Davidson (Chattanooga Times) received special recognition for his contribution as a sports writer.

On behalf of the Board,
Luther Killian

Clint Abbott Jr.

Wrestling Official
NCAA wrestling official for 20 years: 1985 NCAA Division I tournament, SEC, CAC, Southern Conference, NCAA Div. III qualifying, Southern Open,

Tennessee High School wrestling official for 41 years: 29 TSSAA state tournaments, Four TSSAA state dual tournaments, One TSSAA Div. II state traditional tournament, 1969 Mid-South Conference tournament (TN prep championship), Numerous invitational tournaments, Numerous district and regional tournaments.

Halls of Fame: TSSAA (March 1996), Maryville College Wall of Fame (March 1998), Blount County Sports Hall of Fame (Nov. 1998), Blount County Wrestling Hall of Fame (Jan. 2002), Alcoa High School Wall of Fame (Nov. 2004)

Ronnie Carter

Wrestling Coach: Head Coach at Nashville Overton High School, Area (1970-1978), Two Regional Titles (1973, 1974), Finished 5th in the State Tournament (1975)

Administrator: Executive Director of TSSAA (March 1986 to Present), Assistant Exec. Director (1978-1986), National Federation of State High School Associations Wrestling Rules Committee Member (2001-2004), NFHS Board of Directors (1998-2002), President of NFHS (2001-2002), National Association of Sports Officials Board of Directors (2003-2004)

Eddie Davidson

Sports Writer: Chattanooga Times (1954-1994), covered the Tenn. state tournament from 1961 (the first one) to 1994, covered NCAA Div. I nationals in 1971, Covered NCAA Div. II nationals in 1975, and 1976, member of Chattanooga Area Sports Hall of Fame (1995), Charter member of the International Churchman's Hall of Fame.

Charlie Goss

Wrestling Official: TSSAA (1967-present)

Wrestling Coach: Assistant coach/head coach East Ridge Jr. High (1972-82), founded and continues to run the East Ridge Wrestling Club (1974 present), Assistant coach East Ridge H.S (1990-present), Wrestling Chairman for the Hamilton County Athletic Conference for Middle Schools (1994-present)

1964 state champion at East Ridge

Al Miller

Wrestling Coach: Chattanooga Highland Park Boys' Club (1969-1973), Head Coach at Cleveland Jr. High (1973-1977), Assistant Coach at Cleveland H.S. (1973-1977), Head Coach at Cleveland High School (1978-present), Five State Championships (Traditional 1980, 1995 and Small School Duals 1992,1993, 1994), Win-Loss Record: 366-134 , USA Junior Nationals: Head coach or assistant coach for 15 Tennessee teams, European Tour: Has taken six USA teams to Europe with some TN wrestlers

Horace Moore (1927-2005)

Wrestling Coach: Head wrestling coach at Sewanee (1956-1978), Record: 101-78-2, 7 conference team titles, coached one All-American and an NCAA Postgraduate Scholars in wrestling,

Administrator: Member of the NCAA Wrestling Rules Committee (1982-1988), Past president of the Southern Intercollegiate Wrestling Association (S.E.I.W.A.)

Hall of Fame and Awards: Member of the Sewanee Athletics Hall of Fame (2004), Member of the Tennessee Sports Hall of Fame (1993), Sewanee Distinguished Faculty Award, 1998.

Dave Spencer (1917-1998)

Wrestling Coach: Head Coach at Chattanooga McCallie School, (1946-47, 1952, 1955-1971), seven conference titles, two-time runner-up at the National Prep Champions, coached seven individual National Prep Champions and two All-Americans, coached four perfect dual meet seasons, compiled 159-24-3 dual meet record including four perfect seasons.

Hall of Fame: Davidson College Hall of Fame and Chattanooga Area Sports Halls of Fame