Jump to content

Why login?

  • It's free
  • Participate in the discussions
  • Contribute schedules, rosters and scores
  • Hide the advertising on the message boards by becoming a Plus member
  • Welcome to CoachT.com!

    You can't become a part of our great high school sports community without logging in!

    Regular visitors will tell you: they love keeping up with teams outside their own area. That only happens when we share information here on CoachT.com!

    Don't have an account? It only takes a second to create one, and it's even easier with a Facebook or Twitter account!

    Donovan Stewart’s Class 6A All State Team

    • Please log in to reply
    No replies to this topic

    #1 kwc


      Most Valuable Player

    • Members
    • 6,502 posts

    Posted 09 January 2017 - 03:43 PM

    Donovan Stewart’s Class 6A All State Team



    Whitehaven won their second 6A state title under coach Rodney Saulsberry as they outlasted Oakland 12-9 in the 6A State title game t finis undefeated.


    For Whitehaven it was the second 6A state title in the last five years as they defeated Maryville in 2012 for their first state title.

    So to start the new year, tnhighschoolfootball.com lead writer Donovan Stewart is looking back on the season in 6A with a statewide all state team.


    Tnhighschoolfootball.com will roll out an all state team for each classification (1A, 2A, 3A, 4A, 5A, 6A, as well as both Division II classifications). Today, the Class 6A all state team with players selected as 21 spots selected on offense (4 QB, 4 RB, 4 WR, 5 OL, 4 ATH) and 16 spots on defense (4 DL, 4 LB, 4 DB, 4 ATH) as well as one kicker and one punter as well.


    Also selected was an Offensive and Defensive Player of the Year and as well as a Coach of the Year. The selection process was based on discussions with 6A coaches across the state as well as seeing players live and on film.


    LSU commitment and USA Today All American JaCoby Stevens from Oakland is the defensive Player of the Year, Whitehaven senior running back Kylan Watkins is the Offensive Player of the Year and his coach Rodney Saulsberry is honored as the 6A Coach of the Year as the Tigers won their second state title under Saulsberry.


    So here’s the full offensive and defensive all state list.



    QB- Cole Copeland, Bradley Central, Sr.
    QB- Dylan Hopkins, Maryville, Jr,
    QB- Tate Kolwyck, Arlington, Jr.
    QB- John Turner, Smyrna, Sr.
    RB- Jordan Ervin, Maryville, Sr.
    RB- Aidan Raines, Mt. Juliet, Jr.
    RB- Master Teague, Blackman, Jr.
    RB- Kylan Watkins, Whitehaven, Sr.
    WR- Devon High, Wilson Central, Sr.
    WR- Edward Johnson, Cordova, Sr.
    WR- Trey Knox, Blackman, Jr.
    WR- Lameric Tucker, Bradley Central, Jr.
    OL- K’Rojhn Calbert, Warren County, Sr.
    OL- D.J. Delfendahl, Mt. Juliet, Sr.
    OL- Elijah Dobbins, Oakland, Sr.
    OL- Anthony Geter, Whitehaven, Sr.
    OL- Max Wray, Franklin, Jr.
    ATH- Mason Earls, Mt. Juliet, Sr.
    ATH- John Lyons, White Station, Sr.
    ATH- Mitch Rossi, Franklin, Sr.
    ATH- Alontae Taylor, Coffee County, Jr.



    DL- Quinton Bohanna, Cordova, Sr.
    DL- Ellis Chapman, Hardin Valley, Sr.
    DL- Chris Onwumere, Oakland, Sr.
    DL- Matt Young, Maryville, Sr.
    LB- T.D. Blackmon, Maryville, Sr.
    LB- Jackson Cauthen, Oakland, Sr.
    LB- Aubrey Miller, Whitehaven, Sr.
    LB- Bryson Tolley, Science Hill, Sr.
    DB- Gentry Bonds, Riverdale, Sr.
    DB- Theo Jackson, Nashville Overton, Sr.
    DB- Kaleb Oliver, Oakland, Sr.
    DB- JaCoby Stevens, Oakland, Sr.
    ATH- Tim Frizzell, Hardin Valley, Sr.
    ATH- J’len Smith, Whitehaven, Sr.
    ATH- Rayshad Williams, Whitehaven, Jr.
    ATH- Tahj Williams, Ravenwood, Sr.

    Special Teams

    K- Jacob Smith, Siegel, Sr.
    P- Adam Williams, Wilson Central, Sr.

    Award Winners

    Offensive Player of the Year- Kylan Watkins, Whitehaven- The senior running back became the latest great Whitehaven running back rushing for 2,129 yards and scoring 31 touchdowns for the Tigers as he helped lead them to a 6A State title.


    Defensive Player of the Year- JaCoby Stevens, Oakland- The LSU commitment won the Class 6A Mr. Football Back award and was a fabulous two way player for the Patriots as he had 64 tackles and intercepted nine passes at free safety for Oakland.


    Coach of the Year- Rodney Saulsberry, Whitehaven- The Whitehaven alum willed his Alma mater to their second 6A State title in the last five seasons as they used a stellar Defense to win the title.




    Congrats to the all of the young men listed above. A special kudos to all of the young men listed above from the Memphis Area.


    Way to go!

    Edited by kwc, 09 January 2017 - 03:50 PM.

    • 0

    2016 Class 6A State Champions, 2015 Class 6A Semi-finalist, 2014 Class 6A Semi-finalist2013 Class 6A Quarter-finalist, 2012 Class 6A State Champions, 2011 Class 6A State Runner-up, 2010 Class 6A Semi-finalist, 2009 Class 6A Quarterfinalist

    Spirit Style Chooser: