My "dismissal"

Guest bartletths55

Guest bartletths55

I have been reading some of the posts on this board and have noticed that some of these posts are about me and some personal information about me. I would like to take this opportunity to express my opinion on the situation. I have said it many times and will say it many more, if it were just about basketball, I would have no problems at all with playing. But that isn't the case. Ever since I started playing at Bartlett there have been some things I didn't agree with in the system. When I questioned them I was scalded at. When I tried to change them, I was ignored. And when I tried to leave, I was persuaded into coming back. I have always had disagreements with Coach Smith, not so much about basketball but about other things. So I sallowed my pride and just did what he told me to, relevant to basketball or not. But Coach Smith tries to fit everyone in the same mold, and individuality is one of the freedoms I cherish most. He tried to tell me how to act, think, and speak. Many people would gladly sacrafice these freedoms to play in such a program. But I refused, and as a result I'm not playing anymore.

As for the exact incident that occured, I would be more than happy to explain. I broke a rule in a pick-up game, I cussed. As a result, Coach Smith insulted my character. An arguement insued in which I told him he couldn't talk to me in such a fashion and poked him with a finger. He told me to leave. As I was in the locker room trying to get my thing so I could leave, he fallowed me and among other things called me a hipacrit and a disgrace. As I was attemping to leave, he told me to listen to him and I told him that I had listened to him for 3 years and now its my turn, with some colorful idioms added in. I then left.

The claim that I was kicked off the team is a half-truth. I was asked to leave conditioning, however I was never informed that I was officially off the team.