I'm Back!

ELA

As promised... after the season I would be back in this debate. I would like to start this debate by saying I have nothing against private schools or private education. If I lived in some parts of Tennessee's larger inner-cities and could afford to send my kids to a private school, I would at least consider it. If they paid more for teachers and assistant coaches I might even consider working at a private school. Having said that, I am still in favor of a change in our current classification of high schools in Tennessee. As a football coach, I would like to see ONE of the following things happen:

1. All private schools in DII and all public schools in D1. Magnet and charter schools could also be placed in DII if that makes things more equitable?

2. All public and private schools reunited in Tennessee, reducing our current class system from 8 to 6 and adding a multiplier effect (1.5-1.7) to adjust for equity between public, and private, magnet, and future charter schools.

At least 17 other states use one of these methods and I think it would end the debate and create a more competitive environment. Better schools would play each other and the TSSAA would not lose any revenue! These are reasonable suggestions that all but only a few would object to! ;)

• Replies 17
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I like the first one. There are ways of determing what class a magnet school like Tyner should be but I will do everyone a favor and not go into that again ;). Travel would be easier than it is now for most of the current Division II teams such as Baylor (going to Memphis and Memphis teams going to Chattanooga). St. Andrew's Sewanee could play Nashville small schools instead of such long trips too. I say 4 classes in Division I, possibly 5 if there are any 8 or 9 team regions (that's just too much) and 3 in Division II with a total split.

[Edited by Indian on 11-2-02 10:18A]