RED CARD

sportdude

• Replies 40
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

actually there is a situation when a team is allowed to play with 11 players after a red...only if it is a "double yellow" / "red" which then the team is allowed to replace the player with a sub and the player is allowed to play again on the next game but not the remainder of the game that he received the double yellow / red.

The player that recieved the two yellows and the severity of the fouls is usually discussed among the athletic director of the school, the school administrators, and a member of tssaa. The player is usually allowed to play the next game. I remember that from a situation a couple years ago. I'm not sure, they may have changed things YET AGAIN!

Edited by dback33

i totally agree with you Kendren. I'm a referee for tssaa and a ussf referee and i feel that the soft red card rule is very silly. This rule is not present in other soccer countries and i feel that hurts the maturity of growing players. They will feel that they can get away with things and not get punished for them. As for the rule, when a player recieves a double yellow or "soft red" card they sit out the rest of that game but the team still playes with 11 players. That player is not suspended for any ammount of time and is eligible for the next game. As for a straight red card, the player is sent off and the team plays with 10 men. The player must meet with the athletic director of the school and serves at the least a one game suspension pending the meeting with the athletic director.

In one of our recent games one of our players recieved a red card. We thought it was a soft red because he had already got a yellow in the game. The ref allowed us to sub for him so we continued to play with 11. But somehow he still had to meet the athletic director and has been suspended for 3 games. So i wonder if it was a mistake by the ref in allowing us to play with 11 and he meant for it to be a straight red.