Oak Ridge Player without socks

SirPettus

• Replies 13
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Guest caligula

When Tim Hammontree was the Maryville coach players were required to wear the same socks, jocks, and undershirts. If coach says do it, do it. Be a team player.

I am a former coach. Part of the great game of football is the aspect of discipline. The Oak Ridge program is very rich in tradition. Do you think if you asked the members of Jack Armstrongs teams, EMory Hales teams, or Coach Gaddis teams, they would have second guessed the dress of the the coach on picture day? It is an honor to represent your team reguardless of the program. I think if you let the coaches coach and instill the values that are lacking in society in today, the players will be better for it.In spite of what you think of Coach Lussier, let the man coach and the less second guessing that is around, the better the program will be.

Good posts guys! I'm so tired of people complaining about taking responsibility for themselves! Bring your stuff to practice! What if it was his cleats, helmet, or other pads? What if he was in charge of the football bag on game day? :confused:

I have boys blame their mommy each week! "Coach, my mommy forgot to wash my stuff, can I still practice? My response is simple, "No son, you can carry water bottles to the team right after you complete a BIG 12!" :(

[Edited by ELA on 8-7-02 10:46P]

I am far removed from Oak Ridge and therefore have no business commenting on that situation specifically. However, the discussion interests me to the point of commenting on the broad issue of lack of responsibility throughout youth sports, exhibited by coaches, players, and parents alike.